Basic Adobo

I spent three months in the Philippines, and though I tried my best, I simply could not get the basic adobo recipe down!  Mine tasted ok ,but it was nothing like Ate Gina’s, or Ate Becky’s.  Somehow there was something that I just couldn’t get right.  So when I was leaving, Ate Becky passed me a little notebook with a couple recipes in it…including her adobo recipe!

So here it is.

Ate Becky’s Basic Adobo

Ingredients

  • 1 kilo meat (pork, beef, chicken)
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/4 cup vinegar (cider or balsamic)
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 2 tbs crushed garlic
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 2 tsp peppercorn (crushed is better)

Steps:

  1. Marinate the beef with the rest of the ingredients for at least 30 minutes.
  2. Bring marinated meat to a boil.
  3. Simmer until desired doneness or until dry.
  4. Stir occasionally while simmering.
